Return To Your Guide

A life of steady impulses is one not governed by fear. It does not procrastinate its way into vice when anxious. It does not overburden itself with a delirium of choices from an insecurity about its real wants. Rather, it takes charge and has a clear judgment steered by love and self controle.

I’ve been feeling nervy in the last few days. A combination of fear of falling short and anxiety as the pressure mounts. It’s a consequence of worry, which has been a problem for me often and a source of my procrastination. Thursday and Friday were a lost cause as a result and I talked myself into believing I needed the break.

Unfortunately life doesn’t have breaks. It moves right along. Before you know it deadlines are knocking. Consistency hinges on how we move when motivation is thin. Here reason has to take over, and reason must be fed a sensible guide in order to manifest the dicipline required.

I have an article and a podcast to do this week and my belief in pulling them off is what’s been wrecking me. I know that if I just get on with it something incredible will come of it. But the problem has always been that weight that comes with the potential. It comes for every creative. And only the ones who can move past it and do the art or the task have made something of themselves.

This is the place for philosophy and reason to pull me out. The ruling principles of my navigation through life are in place for this exact occurrance. Reminders of why I do what I do, concepts of minimalism and christ like chill, my personal does and don’ts and their reasons, moments of silence and reflection on what has been and what to do next.

Revisit your compass. Those set philosophies and principles that guide you back to the path you need to go. Nobody else has a clear vision of your best life and the trajectory of where it must lead as you do. Get that refuel then move. Then you won’t be controlled by the whims of other people, but most importantly, those of your fears.

Leave a comment